Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Poulet Goulois Table Birds  (Read 4731 times)

Dave C

• Joined Aug 2014
  • Teesdale, Co Durham
Poulet Goulois Table Birds
« on: April 08, 2015, 12:01:55 pm »
I have some Poulet Goulois Table Birds in the incy.
Had some last year along with some Farm rangers but the fox killed the lot  :rant:

They are lighter and healthier than Farm rangers and Ross Cobbs only making about 2.2kg
I was going to grow a few on last year to see how they lay and maybe breed some.

Anyone got any experiance with them ?

RPF

• Joined Feb 2015
Re: Poulet Goulois Table Birds
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 09:33:17 am »
Hi Dave,
I've got a flock of about 25 but it's my first time doing them. They develop a lot faster than any British breed and hens can start breeding in their first year. If you get the right strain, they are the ultimate utility bird. They should be mega hardy so if you are getting a lot of health issues you may want to look at introducing another bloodline. The size of your progeny comes from the hen so get rid of any spindly small hens and keep the fat ones.
Robin

Dave C

• Joined Aug 2014
  • Teesdale, Co Durham
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2015, 11:27:32 am »
Thanks for the info Robin,
So are they a pure Breed ?
I thought they are a hybrid table bird.
Also do they breed true ?

They are similar in stature to my La Bresse Galoiuse only brown in colour.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2015, 11:32:11 am by Dave C »

RPF

• Joined Feb 2015
« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2015, 05:55:39 pm »
Hi Dave,
Sorry, I've been a complete muppets, thought you were on about your La Bresse Gauloise, sorry mate! I must have read your post half asleep.

Incidentally, how are you getting on with them?

Dave C

• Joined Aug 2014
  • Teesdale, Co Durham
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2015, 07:12:20 pm »
Doing well thanks

Egg laying is excellent.
Got 20 eggs due to hatch and putting 9 under a broody tonight, so hopefully will have a few cock birds for the table.