Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: How long inside?  (Read 3341 times)

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
How long inside?
« on: March 09, 2015, 11:47:33 am »
How long do we have to keep Diesel in? We got him last Tuesday and intended to keep him in for two weeks but he's a young cat and getting stir crazy. Obviously I don't want him to run away or get lost (although Bertie might buy him a bus ticket  :) )

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: How long inside?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 11:50:30 am »
I'm no expert but we have only ever kept ours in for a week and in the case of one of them it was only 2 days as she escaped. Luckily she did find her way back to us.
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

in the hills

• Joined Feb 2012
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 12:20:24 pm »
I thought that people used to say 3 weeks but we let our girl out after approaching 2 weeks because she was finding it hard going ..... spent most of her life living outdoors and wandering off for weeks at a time so being locked indoors was new to her. She knew this place as 'home' though so a bit different.

I'd be 'cruel to be kind' and keep him in for as long as you and him can stand.

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 12:27:14 pm »
I'd be 'cruel to be kind' and keep him in for as long as you and him can stand.

This.  Well, up to a couple of weeks, anyway.  And when you do let him out, make sure he knows there's bacon (or whatever he can't resist) and that he's hungry, and don't leave him out for too long before calling him in for the yummy treat.