Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Considering in Doncaster  (Read 2499 times)

ryaldinhio

• Joined Feb 2015
Considering in Doncaster
« on: February 21, 2015, 08:37:57 pm »
Evening all,

Im Ryan I live on the outskirts of doncaster and in the process of buying a slice of land alongside my property. It isnt massive but will mean we have around half an acre. I am hoping to have time this year to get on top of the veg plot and get some chickens and maybe a  couple of pigs. The problem is the wife is not keen on having them slaughtered and she will definitely name them! I am a total novice so will be after advice from you all.

If there are any of you guys not to far from me who would be willing to have me the wife and little un round to show us the ropes it would be greatly appreciated as I am struggling to find any courses around here.

Thanks guys.

Kimbo

• Joined Feb 2015
  • Anglezarke, Lancashire
Re: Considering in Doncaster
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2015, 07:16:52 pm »
Good luck Ryan, Im sure it will all be OK. Just dont name those piggies!! OR.... Pig 1 and Pig 2 are perfectly good names!
Is it time to retire yet?

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2015, 08:41:36 pm »
Hi Ryan and welcome to TAS :wave:

Get two uncastrated boars - they have no future apart from meat. We had gilts first time round and there was just that wee temptation to keep them (and breed from them).

Mammyshaz

• Joined Feb 2012
  • Durham
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2015, 12:46:23 am »
Fowgill is around your area and I've seen adverts from her for pig keeping courses. She seems to know her stuff so worth a booking  :thumbsup:

devonlady

• Joined Aug 2014
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2015, 07:12:42 am »
 :wave: from Devon

B3a5tie

• Joined Feb 2015
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2015, 07:18:56 am »