Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: when to plant out strawberry plants  (Read 3859 times)

wolf1

• Joined Apr 2011
when to plant out strawberry plants
« on: February 07, 2015, 07:22:03 am »
Hi i am new to fruit and veg growing this will be my first year I have just taken delivery of 200 strawberry plants they are bare root plants and are dormant do i plant them out now or wait till the frosts have finished?

Thanks in advance :)

devonlady

• Joined Aug 2014
Re: when to plant out strawberry plants
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2015, 08:25:49 am »
The best time to plant out strawberries is late autumn but I would wait now until spring. If you can, plant them up into pots and put them somewhere sheltered with fleece over them then set out in March. You will need to pinch the flowers out for this year to give the plants time to establish.

Caroline1

• Joined Nov 2014
  • Cambridgeshire
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2015, 09:44:54 am »
Wow you don't start small ;D good luck!
________
Caroline

wolf1

• Joined Apr 2011
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2015, 10:42:22 am »
Hi thankyou for your reply i am building a greenhouse could i plant them out in there now i love strawberries and am hoping to store preserve what we dont eat so i can have them through the winter i did want to order 1000 plants but husband thought we should start with just a few hundred and add to them next year with some different varieties  :)

devonlady

• Joined Aug 2014
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2015, 11:32:34 am »
You could, maybe, leave the flowers on 50 plants to have fruit this summer but the plants will suffer. However, they may throw out runners which you could plant out in September?

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2015, 11:43:52 am »