Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advise on raised bed depths and size.  (Read 4318 times)

bazzais

• Joined Jan 2010
    • Allt Y Coed Farm and Campsite
Advise on raised bed depths and size.
« on: January 04, 2015, 06:33:05 pm »
I am completely new to growing veg, so please be gentle  :hug:

I have levelled out some of the hillside on a south facing slope in our bottom field, I went a bit nuts really as I always do with a digger cos thats the easy bit.

We dont really have any topsoil and a clay mess underneath it (which is now what I am down too).

I mainly want to grow root veg as we have hundreds of rabbits and lots of wind.

I plan to make raised beds out of pallets and will obviously need to fill them with topsoil (we can only get a small vehicles up to the farm so a lorry load is out the question and so I need to know about depths of soil)

How deep would the pallets/topsoil need to be in order to grow things like potatoes, swede, parsnips, sweet potatoes, beetroot, radishes?  And what yeilds would I get if I planted them say in a raised garden that was 10m x 1m?

Also is there anything else I could grow that would not be blown away or eaten by rabbits?

Thanks

Barry

Mmm and I want carrots!!! Will rabbits dig them out?  Are ll root veg going to be eaten by rabbits?  Do I need a rabbit fence?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2015, 06:35:02 pm by bazzais »

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: Advise on raised bed depths and size.
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2015, 08:58:44 pm »
Definitely need rabbit fencing!

Ours are about 10 inches off the ground (scaffolding boards), and all we did (on heavy clay too) was to invert the grass clods then add loads of manure, some sand and excess soil that the pigs had turned into a hill. BUT that means no parsnips or carrots for a year or so they don't like freshly manured soil. Tatties and onions are ok in it.