Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: First-time Chicken Keeper needing help!!  (Read 3470 times)

Flowergirl

• Joined Jan 2010
First-time Chicken Keeper needing help!!
« on: January 13, 2010, 04:21:27 pm »
Hi,

As the titles implies I am a newbie and have no idea what I am doing!!

I acquired four chicks (all female) just before Christmas when they were less than a week old and they are feathering up nicely, growing a lot and very cute but I am wondering whether I could add anything to their diet as they are being exclusively fed on chick crumb right now.  Because of the weather I have not been able to let them range in the garden plus I was told that they cannot go outside until fully fledged at 6 - 8 weeks.  I am worried that they are not getting the right variety of foodstuffs.

What if anything can I give them, and is this correct about the timescale in allowing them outside during the day?  Also is the eglu as wonderful as it says on the tin as £295 is a lot of money for something that might not be that great!

Thanks in advance.

Hilarysmum

• Joined Oct 2007
Re: First-time Chicken Keeper needing help!!
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 04:41:18 pm »
No expert with chickens as mine would tell you.  I would keep them inside until its a lot warmer.  The chicken igloo sounds expensive, but mine is home made.  When they are feathered up you could introduce them to cabbage leaves.  The chick feed contains all the nutrients they need for now, think at about 6 weeks we slowly introduced growers.  Try posting in the chicken forum, they will certainly have answers there.

Smiler

• Joined Jan 2010
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 04:51:44 pm »
Hi Flowergirl