Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Goose chasing other geese  (Read 3607 times)

harefarm

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Winchester
Goose chasing other geese
« on: January 16, 2015, 02:30:27 pm »
I recently took on a mixed flock of 14 adult Embden geese. I do need to sort the geese from the ganders as the lady told me there are only 4 geese.

The problem I have isn't with a gander but what I believe to be a goose, not a gander. (I am still learning about sexing geese). She is the smallest of them all and is aggressive toward all the others, almost constantly squawking and chasing the others including the ganders.

I do have a funny feeling she is a trouble maker.

Any advice would be good.

Thanks in advance.

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
Re: Goose chasing other geese
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 02:56:50 pm »
What makes you believe it's a goose rather than a gander causing the trouble?

With ten ganders and four geese, had it been a gander, I'd have advised a cassoulet. It's a shame you're so low on females though.

I'm confused as to why you'd want that many ganders anyway. Won't it be bedlam come breeding season, even if you do separate them according to sex?
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

harefarm

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Winchester
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2015, 04:49:37 pm »
The geese were sort of rescued. Someone had them on 2 1/2 acres of ground which very quickly turned to mud early December. They were covered in clay and had lost weight. They had no undercarriage when I got them. They are now like totally different geese.

The person who had them said they all got on fine and said they were mostly ganders. I will shortly have another look as I have just purchased a Gander and can now see the difference and I think she may have been wrong.