Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Approval for handling skins  (Read 3057 times)

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
Approval for handling skins
« on: October 26, 2014, 08:10:03 am »
Hi there
Has anyone had a visit from Animal Health to check them out for handling hides and horns from the abattoir?
As a vet, I have found all the relevant legislation but no idea what she'll be looking for!
Hoping for any advice

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
Re: Approval for handling skins
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2014, 06:36:03 pm »
Good luck with it.

Dogwalker

• Joined Nov 2011
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2014, 06:49:10 pm »
I did it over the phone and by email, no visit, just a very helpful animal health lady and sensible vet. :)

Brucklay

• Joined Apr 2010
  • Perthshire
    • Brucklay Pygmy Goats
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2014, 06:58:56 pm »
fsmutter - I guess we are in the must visit area - I enquired, filled in paperwork but had not response till after the boys had gone so things were too late but they want to come out now for next year in case I want to keep the skins - I guess they want to see where you are doing things but I'm not sure. Since then had a visit from animal health!! so I guess this had probably triggered all sorts of things[/size][size=78%] [/font][/size][/color][size=78%] :innocent: [/size]
Pygmy Goats, Shetland Sheep, Zip & Indie the Border Collies, BeeBee the cat and a wreak of a building to renovate!!

clydesdaleclopper

• Joined Aug 2009
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2014, 09:16:21 pm »
Hi FSM I tried to text you but my phone is not happy since little one drowned it  ::)  I had my inspection on Thursday. They are looking for where you will be keeping them  (it needs to be vermin and wild bird proof), records of your vermin control policy, records of the materials you have handled. The lady was very nice and helpful.