Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sponging ewe-lambs  (Read 3102 times)

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
Sponging ewe-lambs
« on: October 23, 2014, 10:02:24 am »
I sponged my ewes a few weeks ago and that went fine, pretty easy to insert. Last night though I sponged my ewe-lambs, and it was much harder.  I knew it would be harder, but even though I went slowly with lots of lube, but some of them really just wouldn't go in very far. Obviously the ewe-lambs are smaller in dimension so will have shorter passages, but I'm not sure that a couple of them aren't in far enough.
The Chronogest applicator seemed a bit big really for my girls (Black Welsh Mountain, about 35kg), so I ended up just using the applicator to get the sponge in initially and then using my finger to slowly push it further up.  The girls weren't very happy about it, some were clearly finding it painful, so I didn't want to hurt them any more than was "necessary".
This is my first time sponging.  I had the vet come out and show me how to do it on the ewes, and I'd asked about the ewe-lambs and whether I would have any problems, and if maybe the hymen needed to be broken in advance and she said "no, it'll be fine". Lol.
So ... how far in is far enough?

Me

• Joined Feb 2014
  • Wild West
Re: Sponging ewe-lambs
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 10:23:09 am »
With ewe lambs in is far enough!

The concern where you have used your finger to push them even a tiny bit further is that they are much more likely to get stuck in the cervix or go right through. Be prepared if you can't find a sponge to have one or two removed with forceps. 

Sponging ewe lambs can be a nightmare and though I do it occasionally I just use a teaser on them now and accept a longer lambing window.

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2014, 11:13:33 am »