Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Free course on chicken behaviour  (Read 7123 times)

DrVickyS

• Joined Oct 2014
Free course on chicken behaviour
« on: October 14, 2014, 12:34:35 pm »
Hi everyone,

I am a poultry scientist at SRUC and in April 2015 we will be running a free  :idea: course on poultry behaviour and welfare, focussing on the back yard chicken.

What would you like to hear about in our course?  We are already covering behaviour patterns of chickens, the senses, welfare and ethics, ways to assess your birds' welfare, welfare problems of commone production systems (commercial and hobby flocks) and emergency killing, transport and slaughter.

I can't cover nutrition of chickens (that is a whole other course!  :-[ ) but any thoughts related to behaviour appreciated.

There will be a 'landing page' that you can sign up for the course soon, on Coursera's website, if it sounds of interest to you.

Thanks for your help.

Vicky

lord flynn

• Joined Mar 2012
Re: Free course on chicken behaviour
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2014, 05:13:11 pm »
awesome, would love to. I was looking at the HNC and MSc on your website the other day, unfortunately can't afford the fees (already have a PhD so probably being greedy!).

I would like to see something on the natural behaviour of cock birds and their body language-and if there's any way of minimising the risk of them becoming aggressive to humans.

bloomer

• Joined Aug 2010
  • leslie, fife
  • i have chickens, sheep and opinions!!!
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2014, 05:37:09 pm »
no idea but please post a link when the course goes live id love to attend...

ellied

• Joined Sep 2010
  • Fife
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: October 14, 2014, 07:38:46 pm »
Hierarchical changes when new stock or ageing/dying/sales alter established order.  I am watching and managing several flock changes and the dynamic is fascinating but research data would be good please.