Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Help new to sheep  (Read 3627 times)

ThomasR

• Joined Jun 2014
  • Peebles
Help new to sheep
« on: August 08, 2014, 10:53:58 pm »
Hi
 I'm relatively new to sheep am concerned about them and if I am doing the right thing or not. They are ewe lambs but they are really big and are born in January some am putting the biggest three to the tup this year and leaving the rest out. The sheep I have are Zwartbles so are prolific mothers and extremely milky. Do I need to dose them or not I have given them all worming stuff twice this year but is there anything else I need to do other than give them there heptavac injection? They seem happy enough just minding there own business until two of them had foot problems so called out vets and he ended up making one of there feet worse >:( >:( >:( >:( by cutting into the flesh and would not stop bleeding for two days. Have managed to stop bleeding now but is still raw and clearly painful, I'm spraying it daily with that blue antiseptic spray from vet but not helping. Am feeling really sorry for her. :'( :'( :-[ :-[

Porterlauren

• Joined Apr 2014
Re: Help new to sheep
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2014, 11:18:28 pm »
Jeez. . . . that's a bad vet.

Trimming feet is a debatable thing. Drawing blood is defiantly not good. But if you have spotted it quick, to be fair, i'd not trim and just spray, and give a jab of alamycin if needed and leave. It should clear up in five days.

Trimming (as you've seen) often prolongs it.

With regard to pre tupping stuff, just the usual care really. Can give crysalix block or something if you think needed.

ThomasR

• Joined Jun 2014
  • Peebles
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2014, 11:27:59 pm »
They have had that all through summer but have now taken it away as trying to lose condition so that I can flush them as they are a score 3 or 4 at the moment.

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2014, 02:16:04 pm »