Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Zwartbles  (Read 5739 times)

Daisys Mum

• Joined May 2009
  • Scottish Borders
Zwartbles
« on: July 09, 2014, 04:36:01 pm »
This is my first year with these sheep and I think it may be my last, whilst they are looking in really good condition they have cost a fortune to keep that way, really struggling to keep them sound. I did wonder if it was just me but my neighbouring farmer has 3 running with his commercials and he says the same, he is keeping my Tup for me just now but can't get weight onto it either, it is running with his Texel and Hampshire tups and they look really good. They have all been wormed and fluked!

Anne

horlicks

• Joined Dec 2012
Re: Zwartbles
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 05:42:06 pm »
Only had 2 zwartbles so no expert on them but they were always lean and usually lame, this is more likely the fault of breeders selling anything that looked right rather than being functional ( not singling out zwarble breeders ).
 Maybe its down to ourselves to be more critical and  fussy as to what and where we buy.

Daisys Mum

• Joined May 2009
  • Scottish Borders
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 07:30:36 pm »
I am sure that you are probably right Horlicks, thought I was okay buying from a very reputable breeder.
Anne

Azzdodd

• Joined Apr 2012
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2014, 08:07:58 pm »
I'm with you ive had zwarble cross before they were fine bought some pure this year been a pain! Always lame don't really thrive like my commercial breeds.....I sold mine as I just couldn't imagine the bloody things in winter

Daisys Mum

• Joined May 2009
  • Scottish Borders
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2014, 09:46:08 pm »
I am going to sell mine, I know that I wont get what I paid for them but going to cut my losses, they are looking good just now, if I can just keep them sound :fc: and I do have some very nice lambs, a couple of which will fit very nicely in my freezer