Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sick lamb  (Read 3898 times)

Elizabeth sarmiento

• Joined Jun 2014
Sick lamb
« on: June 15, 2014, 12:23:48 pm »
I have a 3 week old twin lamb, lost mum to fly strike,  one twin is thriving on the bottle, but the other twin is growing weaker, she will not take the bottle so I'm struggling getting the milk down him, the only way I've been keeping it alive, I've got a ewe with one lamb and I put it on her, she goes mad but don't know wat else to do, I've got. A tube ov lamb reviver but no instructions on how to use, can any one advise me I'm only new at this, and this is my fist time, only have a small flock,

waterbuffalofarmer

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Mid Wales
  • Owner of 61 Mediterranean water buffaloes
Re: Sick lamb
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2014, 03:43:36 pm »
I have never used a tube before for lambs. my advice would be to ask your vet to show you how to tube feed a lamb. Good luck :)
the most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, loving concern.

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2014, 07:00:27 pm »
Is this a tube with as large syringe like and and a long thin rubber tube? Ie a stomach tube?
I have also heard of "lamb reviver" as a paste type mix of minerals and energy that a squirt of will give a lamb a boost.
A foster mum may well be a good option, but the ewe won't be impressed as she will know its not her lamb at this age.
You could force the issue using an adopter crate where the ewe is held by her head so she cant see or smell the lambs, usually for a few days, by which time she may accept the adoptee lamb, but still may reject it.