Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Query about topping a field that has sheep in it  (Read 5137 times)

swm

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Heanor
Query about topping a field that has sheep in it
« on: October 22, 2009, 11:35:56 am »
Hi,

I am quite new to keeping sheep and have had a couple of lambs this year which were raised for (and now inhabit) my freezer. I have be moving them through small paddocks made of electric mesh. This has meant that I could top the paddock that they came off to clear some of the coarse grass and hit the weeds.

How quickly after topping can sheep (and other livestock for that matter) be put back on a paddock?

hexhammeasure

• Joined Jun 2008
    • golocal food
    • Facebook
Re: Query about topping a field that has sheep in it
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2009, 06:51:03 pm »
If there is enough space I wouldn't even take the sheep out while I top the field, There is no need to hold any sheep back What they don't like they won't eat. However!!  If you have ragwort pull it out before you top it as when it becomes dry sheep will nibble at it and that isn't good for them.
Ian

swm

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Heanor
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2009, 08:58:08 pm »
Thanks for your reply.

I have always had horses and have been conditioned by BHS/Pony Club warnings that wilted grass cuttings would be V hazardous to health. Given that the main theory of sheep seems to be that their ambition is to find a way to die I have kept mine away from anything that anthing even remotely threatening.

Pentre1230

• Joined Apr 2009
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2009, 09:43:30 pm »
Hex is spot on, we don't take any of our sheep or cows out of the fields when we top, horses yes, sheep no need..Having em in the field stops you getting bored while you top as ours insist on following the topper around, they think its a sheep snacker!!

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook