Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: goat as 'pets' advice  (Read 4305 times)

lord flynn

• Joined Mar 2012
goat as 'pets' advice
« on: May 31, 2014, 08:25:29 am »
This is just a first hint of a thought so bear with me. I would also say that I have no goat experience although I do work a bit with sheep. I have no interest in showing, breeding, milking or eating goats.

Over the years I have met horses that have had goats as companions. Hopefully this was a good arrangement for the goats as well. I have three equines-one a retired pony who has very different dietary requirements to the other two. There are no other horses in sight which means leaving one alone for any length of time is not an option, having grazing dotted around the place makes this tricky. I do not want another little pony-I was only ever meant to have two, this one was sort of dumped on me and I am too fond of him to do much about it. Cross grazing is useful for both the ponies and the goats I would expect.

Would a pair of castrated male goats be an option? I expect a pair rather than a single one. What are the associated costs? I am quite handy at hoof trimming, feed hay year round, have stock fenced paddocks and can easily convert part of the stables to a goat stable.

What breeds are suitably docile and low maintenance? How much would a castrated male/s cost? How easy are they to find? (Central Scotlandish).
Any other advice/opinions?

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: goat as 'pets' advice
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2014, 12:18:04 pm »
Golden Guernsey wethers, or possibly some British Saanen wethers - yes two would be better. Size-wise they would compare better with a horse/pony than say a pygmy, fairly calm and will do well on mostly hay and maybe some sugarbeet shreds/oats for maintenance.