Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Almost time, what do I do now  (Read 3261 times)

Lynnes

• Joined May 2009
  • My boy's
Almost time, what do I do now
« on: October 09, 2009, 01:07:15 pm »
Its almost time for my boys go to slaughter  :(, I live near Girvan, Ayrshire Scotland. This is my first time with pigs and I have a tamworth, 2 saddlebacks and a middle white all boars, none pedigree though mostly true to type. I would like to sell a carcass or 2 to a local butcher but I don't know what price to ask, I have found it quite costly feeding and rearing them, don't get me wrong I have enjoyed it very much, at the same time I must try to get a good price if I have to do this again. They are doing well and eating well out doors. I'm not sure where my nearest slaughter house is I'm dismayed to think I have to travel them over an hour and half for my nearest, any help and advice on this and price please ??? 
Lynnes   

BillyBerridge

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Nottinghamshire
Re: Almost time, what do I do now
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2009, 01:38:50 pm »
Hi Lynnes,

Have you worked out your costs fully i.e do you know what they have cost you to raise everything included?

I sell mine to our butcher for £3.00 a kilo dead weight, They are good quality carcasses with around 16--18mm of fat.

Have you had anyone more expierence look over the pigs to see how they look, the last thing you want to do is to take them all at the sme time and find that some are too fat rendering them worthless! You can soome slim them down in the field but you can't once there dead!

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2009, 07:28:47 pm »
Try Ramsays at Carluke - they will kill, butcher, cure etc and have a very good reputation.

ukag0972

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Argyll
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2009, 07:35:51 pm »
I'll vouch for Ramsays!