Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Fly strike, Click or Crovec or...?  (Read 5735 times)

Jukes Mum

• Joined Apr 2014
  • North Yorkshire
Fly strike, Click or Crovec or...?
« on: May 02, 2014, 03:06:04 pm »
Please bear with me on this- I am new to sheep and learning as I go along (mostly from your shared experiences on this forum!).
I have 2 sheep and 2 lambs (8 weeks old) and obviously want to prevent flystrike.
There seem to be so many products out there and I am not sure what I need.
Does anyone have any suggestions as to what is the most economical for such a tiny flock, yet effective?
They are very friendly so in theory I could treat regularly if necessary.

The farmer 'over't lane' has offered to 'do mine with his' (I am not sure what he uses) but he will not be 'doing' his for another few weeks, and there seem to be alot of flies about already.
Maybe there is some sort of sheep fly repelant I could use everyday until the farmer 'does' them?
Your thoughts are much appreciated!  :thinking:
Don’t Monkey With Another Monkey’s Monkey

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
Re: Fly strike, Click or Crovec or...?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 03:18:13 pm »
Depends where you are in the country.  If I were you I'd just get your neighbour to do them with his, he is more likely to know when the best time is, just from experience.

Just keep the bums clean in the mean time - dag the ewes if they need it (if there is any soiled wool), and worm the lambs as and when required.

There may be flies around, but they won't necessarily be the ones that cause blowfly strike.  It's the green shiny ones you need to be on the look out for (mostly).

When I had only a small number of sheep I used Crovect (0.8l bottle), as it was the cheapest and came in the smallest quantity.  If they are friendly then you could go down the organic route using something like Barrier Blowfly Repel, which would need to be reapplied much more frequently.

Jukes Mum