Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello from Carmarthenshire  (Read 9630 times)

Horseshoe House

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Carmarthenshire
Hello from Carmarthenshire
« on: April 25, 2014, 12:12:10 pm »
Hello Wales

Please say hi if you are in my area - would be lovely to meet you.

I have 15 acres to wrestle and I'm just getting started. This is my first bash at smallholding.
Please feel free to advise the best way to tackle swathes of brambles at the field edge, in the field and woodland. It's truly taken over in parts. I like the idea of doing things organically but can this really be so, with so much clearing to be done?
What's the best (cheap) home made pig ark, in your opinion - will an old 'Rice' horsebox do?
 Not planning to keep pigs over winter or start until next spring as we have building/drainage/pipe laying/fencing/garden work/a life to fit in first.

Is anyone else at the beginners stage, like me?

Many thanks,
Linn

« Last Edit: April 25, 2014, 12:40:58 pm by The House In The Horseshoe »

Somewhere_by_the_river

• Joined Dec 2013
  • Near Llandeilo
    • Angela French Graphite Artist
    • Facebook
Re: Hello from Carmarthenshire
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2014, 12:26:27 pm »
Hello and welcome also from Carmarthenshire!

Not sure exactly where you are, but they are a very friendly bunch round here; last local TAS meet was in Feb, but you never know...  :D We're not far from Llandeilo and always happy to meet new friends.  :wave:

We've kept chickens/pheasants/partridge and gardened extensively for years, but though I have some experience with bigger, more exotic critters, sheep etc. (next stage) will be new for me. Loads of advice on here though...