Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Lambing Zwartbles  (Read 2782 times)

Daisys Mum

• Joined May 2009
  • Scottish Borders
Lambing Zwartbles
« on: April 04, 2014, 09:31:37 am »
This is my first year with these and out of my five one of my gimmers is having  triplets and one twins. We are not due to start lambing until the 19th so planning just to keep them outside, they have enormous fleeces and I worry a bit that a. the lambs will be able to find the milk bar and b. that mum may lie on them.This two are very friendly and good to handle so at least that should help if help is needed. The other three are all experienced mums and not quite so easy to handle so hopefully they will just get on with it although I would have liked to have fostered one of the triplets onto the one expecting the single but as luck would have it she is the flightiest of all. How have those of you with Zwartbles  found them to be as lambers and mothers?
Anne

mowhaugh

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Scottish Borders
    • Facebook
Re: Lambing Zwartbles
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2014, 01:18:29 pm »
I only had Zwartbles for two years (they just couldn't cope with our hill ground without needing lots and lots of feed which was a financial nightmare), but had no problems lambing them at all.  They were outstanding mothers, and I did have a couple successfully rear three.  They also lambed with no issues.  They are very unlikely to lie on their babies outdoors.  The lambs should be OK with finding the milk, I don't remember them being particularly wooly around the udder, but you could always pull a bit off.  Have fun!

mowhaugh

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Scottish Borders
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2014, 01:19:35 pm »
I did keep some Zwartble X Cheviots, who are completely black, and I tupped them with a black Cheviot tup.  The first two lambed this morning - lambs are snowy white!

smee2012

• Joined Sep 2012
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2014, 02:43:12 pm »