Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Creosote treatment for chicken coops  (Read 12631 times)

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
Creosote treatment for chicken coops
« on: March 30, 2014, 08:19:20 am »
I understand that treating chicken coops with creosote keeps mites etc at bay.

As I am not a professional, I cannot get hold of this product.

Do creosote alternatives/imitations such as creoseal have the same effect?
We do the best we can with the information we have

When we know better we do better

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
Re: Creosote treatment for chicken coops
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2014, 08:47:14 am »
The DIY product is called Creocote and is available in 5 Litre bottles Suziequeue. I have been told it is not as effective as original creosote, but it must have some preventative effect. Red mite love clean new wood as I have found out. Within the cracks in it they multiply rapidly, so anything you can do to make the wood 'dirty' has got to help. Make sure, if you can, to turn the coop panels upside down to get the stuff into the tongue and groove joints of the cladding. That may not be possible with some coops. I doubt Creocote will eradicate red mite once they are established though.

Surprised you can't buy proper creosote though Suziequeue -in 30L drums we got. A traditional agricultural merchants will have it and if you have a CHP number there is no argument.

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2014, 09:21:54 am »
Oh - right - I'll give that a try.

Thanks  :D :D

Kitchen Cottage

• Joined Oct 2012
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2014, 11:25:00 am »
I bought creosote off the internet with no problem.  I have however had a huge problem getting the bloody stuff to dry... the consequence is.... this week I will be wiping off the damp stuff with white spirit  ::)

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland