Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Need a Helping hand  (Read 2708 times)

thommobhoy

• Joined Sep 2009
Need a Helping hand
« on: September 28, 2009, 12:44:17 am »
Hi there. I am new to the growing your own food. So new that i was wondering if anyone could tell me where i could get hands on experience in my local area of ayrshire?

i have always wanted to grow my own fruit and veg and keep livestock, but i have been a bit scared about having the responsibility. i really don't want to be the guy who set out with good intentions and failed.   :-[

so any help would be most grateful. Also i am a joiner to trade and at the tender age of 23 i am still fit ( ;D) to do hard work!

Thanks

Hilarysmum

• Joined Oct 2007
Re: Need a Helping hand
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2009, 07:06:38 am »
Hi and welcome.  Could you ask at your local library for the contact details of local smallholding groups and start there?  Do you have a local farmers' market where you could make enquiries?

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2009, 09:08:37 am »
Scottish Smallholders are based on Ayrshire. I'm sure there will be folk who woudl LOVE to have a fit and healthy joiner to help out!

sandy

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2009, 08:17:11 pm »
Hi, we could do with a joiner living with us...always something to do here but we have no land as such, just 16chickens and 2 Ducks but our 300+ year old house needs lots of TLC

marigold

• Joined Jul 2009
  • Kirriemuir Scotland
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2009, 09:36:01 pm »
What a great offer.....
Anytime you would like a weekend away in Angus you'd be very welcome here. We've only got 11 hens and 4 ducks and we're juct establishing some raised beds for our veggie patches, but after a whole weekend of barrowing muck and aching all day today, I'd be so grateful for any help.