Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: size of pregnant sheep query  (Read 7513 times)

pooks

• Joined Apr 2012
size of pregnant sheep query
« on: March 12, 2014, 09:43:38 am »
Morning all,  probably a stupid question, but will ask any way.  i am in my second year lambing my micro flock of wilts horn sheep.  my query is i have a ewe scanned with twins ,due by raddle marks around 23rd March, but she does not seem very big, certainly compared to last year (twins again then) and she was pretty massive.  No signs of udder yet but i know that can vary ewe to ewe but does it vary year to year with the same ewe,also and  if she had twins last year and looked massive and bagged up fairly early and is scanned for twins this year and hardly looks big at all could this be normal.  This will be her second lambing.  just wondering if she has lost em somewhere along the way, although been fit and well all along as far as i can tell.  she has grass, life line bucket and is now on about 800g to 1kg of 18% ewe nuts a day (been built up over the last 5 weeks or so).  any thoughts to put my mind at rest?

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
Re: size of pregnant sheep query
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2014, 07:03:47 pm »
If you've been feding her correctly she's likely to be OK.  One of my skinniest-looking Badger Face has just had cracking twins whilst one with a single is waddling around like a mobile armchair.

pooks

• Joined Apr 2012
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2014, 08:19:11 am »
thanks for that MF, hopefully i am worrying for no reason, she looks well and although not as big as last year i'm pretty sure she is still pregnant.  two more weeks or so and i will know for sure, one way or the other.  i imagine its likely that ewes can carry the lambs in slightly different positions each pregnancy and sometimes look massive and sometimes not, just like humans!!

thanks for the response  i will let you know the outcome.

:)

kanisha

• Joined Dec 2007