Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Electric Fence for pigs  (Read 3322 times)

jopind

• Joined Jul 2013
Electric Fence for pigs
« on: March 05, 2014, 04:30:14 pm »
Hi,
Sorry if this has been asked before, I couldn't find anything specific using the search tool.

I have two 3 year old Kunes and have them ranging over 3 acres (due to the weather) I am going to need to contain them when things finally start growing and would like to strip graze them over the field rather than let them range. I was told by their previous owner that they were electric fence trained as youngsters but its been a few years since they have been near one. I have read up on electric fence training and have a suitable fenced in area to be able to do it in.

The confusing bit being a complete newbie is what spec I need the fence and battery to be. I have found a kit online (http://www.fearing.co.uk/pig-metal-electric-fencing-kit/) which looks ok but I assume I need to buy a separate battery? Is there anything else I would need to buy as well?

I have never used an electric fence before and really haven't a clue. Any advice very welcome.

Thanks in advance.
Jo

oaklandspigs

• Joined Nov 2009
  • East Sussex
    • OaklandsPigs
Re: Electric Fence for pigs
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2014, 06:05:02 pm »
Yes by the looks of the link you supllied that kit would need a battery as well unless you went for mains (depends on how close to your supply they are !

personally I prefer white "horse tape" to wire, as the pigs see it more easily and learn quicker.

This guide is quite good to explain the bits and how it works

http://www.rappa.co.uk/advice-centre/13-fencing-guide

You'll need a leisure battery and suggest you go for over 70ah - this is essentially how long the battery needs between charges.  The higher the number, the longer it lasts.

www.Oaklandspigs.co.uk
"Perfect Pigs" the complete guide to keeping pigs; One Day Pig Courses in South East;