Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 4579 times)

stan

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Leeds
« on: September 20, 2009, 09:02:36 pm »
Hello All, I'm new to house farming sorry we are new, me and my partner, We live in Leeds West Yorkshire.
We have 5 chickens and 2 ducks at the mo, we are looking to get 2 or 3 piglets to fatten up then take to slaughter house for meat, I have done alot of reading about keeping pigs ive got my Holding number now and waiting for herd number.
We would love a plot of land 1 or 2 acres would be great but it cost way to much theses days, We get lovely fresh eggs from our chickens some double yokes.
I would like to ask the best way to get a plot of land cheap if anyone knows how to.
Regards Stan.
Hi all

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2009, 09:05:57 pm »
Welcome
If I knew the answer, I'd do it myself!!!
Little Blue

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2009, 09:13:46 pm »
Hi Stan - welcome to the forum.  I don't know about your area but it's nigh on impossible to get land in Central Scotland.  Our house buying system of offers over makes it very difficult.  I was looking for something down here beside my family for about two years, and finally put an offer in a couple of years ago for a two bedroom cottage in bad repair with a 2 acre fenced paddock and fairly large garden -  and was the 6th offer down out of 17!  And I offered £51500 above the asking price!  They reckoned it went for double the asking  I gave up and looked for fixed price deals knowing there would be a reason.  But managed to get this place - too many rooms for one person really but I've managed to spread myself somehow - I Do like lots of space though, and next to a goods rail lien and a by pass - advantage is I can't ever be overlooked.