Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep eating poisonous. plants.  (Read 17934 times)

crowncottage@btinternet.c

• Joined Jan 2014
Sheep eating poisonous. plants.
« on: February 08, 2014, 07:33:08 pm »
I am new to this site as well as to keeping sheep. Today I let my three sheep in to a fresh pasture with plenty of grass which they seemed happy with but as soon as my back was turned they started tucking in to some ivy. My son stopped them but they then moved on to eating mistletoe! Does anyone know if this will make them ill? Are plants that are poisonous to humans also bad for sheep? What can I do to help if they are poisoned?

Steph Hen

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Angus Scotland.
Re: Sheep eating poisonous. plants.
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2014, 07:59:17 pm »
I don't think ivy is poisonous to sheep; I'm not an expert at all, but the old farmer where I grew up used to cut branches of ivy to feed to any of his ewes if they were struggling to feed their lambs... Said it helped, I don't know how true this was, but they ate a lot of it and lived. I'm sure someone who knows will answer soon.

Tim W

• Joined Aug 2013
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2014, 08:05:36 pm »
Mine love to strip ivy off fallen trees---they are getting plenty at the moment!
Doesn't seem to harm them but I guess much will depend on how much they ingest?

'A little bit of poison makes for pleasant dreams and a little bit more for a pleasant death'---can't remember where that comes from but I think it was in relation to opiates ---but could apply to almost anything

Me

• Joined Feb 2014
  • Wild West
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 08:14:48 pm »

'A little bit of poison makes for pleasant dreams and a little bit more for a pleasant death' -  :thumbsup:

darkbrowneggs

• Joined Aug 2010
    • The World is My Lobster
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2014, 08:44:20 pm »