Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Finishing lambs (or finishing them off)  (Read 4352 times)

DartmoorLiz

• Joined Jan 2012
  • Devon
Finishing lambs (or finishing them off)
« on: January 20, 2014, 10:14:03 pm »
Hi,  I'm trying a small (actually whole flock) experiment.  I thought I'd try finishing lambs indoors so I have 9 lambs indoors, weighing (when they came in a week ago between 20 and 40kg.  I weighed them today after feeding them concentrate and hay for a week and while some have gained most have lost (the worst 4kg).  They were all wormed on coming in and a couple of lame ones were treated. 

My question is, is this normal?  Can I expect them all to start gaining now that they have acclimatised to being in and their fleeces have dried?  I've never done this before and it doesn't look like my lambs have read the Eblex leaflet.  Is there anything that I have missed? 

Thanks for your help.
Never ever give up.

shygirl

• Joined May 2013
Re: Finishing lambs (or finishing them off)
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2014, 10:47:38 pm »
iv no idea but its interesting. i personally have found my sheep didnt eat too much when inside but obviously many people do keep sheep inside.
perhaps that 4 kilos was wet fleece from all the rain :roflanim: :roflanim:

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall
  • Rarely short of an opinion but I mean well
    • Trelay Cohousing Community
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2014, 03:05:32 am »
There will probably have been quite a bit of water in those fleeces, yes!  And quite a lot of wet rumen content, coming in off grass - we always reckon they lose 2kg coming inside off grass, just for those two reasons.

Factors which will could affect how well they do indoors include
  • sufficient trough space - watch them feed, does everyone actually get some?
  • sufficient access to the hay ditto
  • sufficient fresh water - they will need to drink a lot of water in order to metabolise the hay and concentrate