Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: attaching metal to brick  (Read 7081 times)

lord flynn

• Joined Mar 2012
attaching metal to brick
« on: December 30, 2013, 08:49:01 pm »
hi
I need to out up some metal tie rings (to tie horses up to) to a brick wall. If you don't know, the ring attaches by way of a plate with 4 screws in it.

I don't know how too do it! I am not bad at woodworking as I make my own runs and coops but its all self taught. Its no good asking OH as its not really his thing-and he's convinced if it goes wrong, the whole building will come down.

I have the rings, I have screws, I have a drill with masonry bits. I have safety goggles. What do I need to know  :) ?

bloomer

• Joined Aug 2010
  • leslie, fife
  • i have chickens, sheep and opinions!!!
Re: attaching metal to brick
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2013, 09:06:12 pm »
do you have rawplugs

for that kind of fixing you want 8 or 9mm ones

then mark where screws got to go use appropriate drill for rawplugs drill the length of the screws into the wall, insert rawplug, screw in as you would wood although dont use a power driver as they eat rawplugs.

give it a try somewhere that doesnt matter first if your worried.

Cactus Jack

• Joined Oct 2013
  • Tortosa catalunya
    • stevel100
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2013, 09:38:20 pm »
It's worth marking all the holes first with a magic marker or chalk then start drilling. Don't overheat the drill bit!

bigchicken

• Joined Nov 2008
  • Fife Scotland
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2013, 11:05:56 pm »
All good advice, has your drill got a hammer mode best to use that if it has.
Shetland sheep, Castlemilk Moorits sheep, Hebridean sheep, Scots Grey Bantams, Scots Dumpy Bantams. Shetland Ducks.

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2013, 06:45:59 am »
Make sure you use a proper masonry drill bit of the correct size
We do the best we can with the information we have

When we know better we do better