Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Slaughter weight / meat yield of Black Welsh Mountain rams  (Read 7374 times)

Arabus

• Joined Feb 2012
  • Hampshire
Slaughter weight / meat yield of Black Welsh Mountain rams
« on: December 03, 2013, 08:16:37 pm »
Hi all, I'm very new to sheep keeping and despite reading a few books and being quite experienced with goats and other livestock, I have already made a few mistakes, and now have a number of questions.
Firstly:
I have 6 Black Welsh ram lambs, aged 6 - 8 months and weighing 19 - 32kgs.
I would like to take the 3 heaviest to slaughter asap, but know they're a bit small.
Please can anyone advise me on the likely meat yield for lambs of 30 -32kgs live weight?
Thanks in advance.....

Tim W

• Joined Aug 2013
Re: Slaughter weight / meat yield of Black Welsh Mountain rams
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2013, 08:25:07 pm »
Bit of a guess as I don't know Black Welshies that well but ---

My small lambs are killing out at 46% --that is liveweight/deadweight , which is just to a carcase hanging before it is butchered
These would be 36kg liveweight & 16kg dead ---once these are cut and some bone is lost you may get down to a 14kg lamb carcase

I would think your Black Welshies will have a poorer conformation than my more commercial animals so the kill out may be less?

So a 32kg Blackie may give 12kg of butchered lamb? bit of a guess but may give you some idea?

Arabus

• Joined Feb 2012
  • Hampshire
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2013, 08:34:18 pm »
That's great, thank you.
Do you think 3 days hanging is enough (not to have to make a third trip to the abbattoir, offal has to be collected within 3 days)?
Do you get your lambskins cured?
And do you know if it's possible to have the horns returned (my dad fancies them for walking stick handles!)?

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2013, 09:09:11 pm »