Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: new ground  (Read 5751 times)

cowpat

• Joined Sep 2013
new ground
« on: December 01, 2013, 09:42:46 pm »
Hi all.i am currently keeping 7 pigs on a piece of land 15 metres by 10 metres.thet have eaten all the grass and given the soil a real good digging over.i am now going to move the pigs rabbit fence the plot and begin my veg plot.i am a complete beginner so any advice would be very gratefully received.thinking of getting a polytunnel aswell.
the plot is pretty well sheltered from wind and will recive full sun light.the soil seems ok?.and the land is on gravel so drains pretty well.
any ideas or advice would be great
cheers all.
Mat.

HesterF

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Kent
  • HesterF
Re: new ground
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2013, 11:38:23 pm »
Sounds like a brilliant start! I guess the next question is what do you want to grow? Normally a good place to start is what do you eat - unless you want to sell produce too. When we moved last year, I started by creating six beds which were all 2m wide by about 11m long (length varies a bit) so approximately 66m2. In those beds I have my soft fruit (five currant bushes, about 12m of various raspberries, tayberry, loganberry, rhubarb and strawbs) plus my basic veg rotation (divided roughly into peas & beans, cabbages, broccoli & Brussels, onions, garlic & root veg and a random category of tomatoes, potatoes and sweetcorn). I then decided this spring that it's not enough space - mostly because I love growing pumpkins - so we deturfed an area of 10m x 10m. In there are 3m x 3m of asparagus (about 40 crowns), three gooseberries and a couple more currants plus enough room to produce 400 pumpkins, squashes and gourds (i.e. too much but they were very prolific due to the tonnes of rotted manure that got dumped on top after deturfing).