Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: field size  (Read 4259 times)

Jamie12

• Joined Nov 2013
field size
« on: November 20, 2013, 10:54:29 am »
In theory the plan is yo purchase some suffolks, two at first. Hopefully in lamb. Now I'm totally new to sheep and have three options. We rent two adjacent smallish paddocks, on a steep hill, plenty of natural shelter but am debating if these are two small?. I ran three welsh mountain ponies on these paddocks with no problem (but were fed and lib hay and hard feed). Second option is a choice of flat fields 6 miles from home, ranging from 10 acres to 25 with not a lot of shelter, man made or other wise and I'd definitely need to build something for lambing. Other option is for them to run with my friends sheep at her farm, lamb there etc, but if we fall out I'm buggared basically!. Option one is walking distance from home and may poss be able to transfer into my bigger rented paddock to lamb, where we have a field shelter. Opinions anyone?

Foobar

• Joined Mar 2012
  • South Wales
Re: field size
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2013, 11:09:18 am »
You'd be better off getting three sheep rather than two, that way if one gets ill and has to be separated or one dies, then the other one won't be left on it's own.
How big are your paddocks?  If you've kept three ponies on them then I suspect they are plenty for 3 sheep.  10 acres for 3 sheep is way way too much.

devonlad

• Joined Nov 2012
  • Nr Crediton in Devon
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2013, 11:14:36 am »