Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice for starting with ducks  (Read 5067 times)

Big Benny Shep

• Joined Mar 2011
  • Skipton
Advice for starting with ducks
« on: October 27, 2013, 09:47:15 am »
Im thinking of getting some ducks, i have 30 hens so fine with them.
How does looking after them differ?

any advice wouls be greatly appreciated
BIG Ben
We have 80(ish) texels and texel x suffolks, 10 lleyns, 21NE Mules, 2 Dexters with calves, Monty the labrador, Dottie, Bracken and Poppy the collies and 30 assorted hens.

FrostyM

• Joined Apr 2012
  • Wicklow, Ireland
    • My Overcrowded Garden
    • Facebook
Re: Advice for starting with ducks
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 12:55:08 pm »
I am no expert on ducks but I have kept hens for a good few years and added 5 ducks last year. The main difference is the need for water. Ducks need to be able to submerge their heads in water to keep their nostrils clear. A few buckets of water around the place will do. They will dirty them very quickly so need to be changed regularly. Also ducks don't roost, they sleep on the floor. Once there is some straw for nesting the should be fine. They also need a walk way into the house. We had a bit of a jump up for the hens that the ducks couldn't manage. Our birds all eat the same feed but the ducks can't eat from the bucket type feeder as they need to "scoop"  their food up so we put some feed into dishes for them. Other than that they are very similar to keeping hens. They don't get any other special treatment really and we get lovely eggs for baking with.

darkbrowneggs

• Joined Aug 2010
    • The World is My Lobster
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2013, 01:01:59 pm »
You will find them much much messier.