Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: How to eat a Kunekune?  (Read 3765 times)

Button End Beasts

• Joined Jan 2012
  • Harston, Cambridgeshire
How to eat a Kunekune?
« on: September 03, 2013, 09:39:27 pm »
Well not exactly but our  girls are now booked on their one way journey. I've never done little pigs before so was wondering how to have them butchered. I had originally thought they would be just for sausages but perhaps they do make some decent (tiny) joints? I aim on keeping a leg to try another air dried ham (our last GOS one was gooooood :yum: ) How do you Kunekune owners/eaters butcher yours?

Thanks in advance for advice.

HappyHippy

Re: How to eat a Kunekune?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2013, 11:35:11 pm »
We just get the butcher to joint, cut and pack as we would normally. It's usually a mix of chops/loin joints/bacon, a couple of rolled gigots and everything else as sausage/burgers/mince (it's what our customers like  ;))
The joints and cuts are a bit smaller but every bit as tasty  :yum:

I've not done an air dried ham, but the Kunekune bacon we had made was delish  :thumbsup:
HTH
Karen

Button End Beasts

• Joined Jan 2012
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2013, 05:42:45 pm »
Hi :wave:

Just been thinking about how to get the Kunes butchered. At 11-12 months old I guess they wouldn't be any good yet for bacon? As sausages are soooo popular with our customers, I was thinking of having them made into just sausages. Not really sure how many sausages a whole Kunekune might make? Would there be a mahoooosive lot of sausages?

Thanks!
Beki

HappyHippy

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2013, 04:08:00 pm »
In a word.....yes  ;D

Our Kunekunes are around 85Kg live weight at that age, so approx. 40Kg of minced pork, made into sausages.....yeah, lots  :thumbsup:

HTH ?
Karen x

Button End Beasts

• Joined Jan 2012
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2013, 07:45:45 am »
Hi Karen,