Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: worming  (Read 7810 times)

The Chicken Lady

• Joined Mar 2008
  • Cheshire
worming
« on: March 19, 2008, 08:44:22 pm »
I am very new to pig keeping - infact I don't get my weaners until next week. When should I if I have to and how do I worm them. I only intend to rear them for meat not for breeding.
Karen

Hilarysmum

• Joined Oct 2007
Re: worming
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2008, 10:13:01 am »
To be absolutely sure, its best to worm them when you get them and again 4 weeks before you send them on.  You can buy wormers from the vets and possibly from the chemist, we put the appropriate dose into a jam sandwich never fails. 

I envy you the pleasures that await this being your first lot of pigs.  HM

The Chicken Lady

• Joined Mar 2008
  • Cheshire
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2008, 08:00:07 am »
I am quite exited as this weekend we are making a pig ark - a family effort! we have bought what we need but have already got some items so we have only spent £35 - I do like a bargain  :) :) :)
Karen

carole

• Joined Oct 2007
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2008, 06:11:49 pm »
Can I ask those who also live in France the name of the wormer they are using please and the approx cost please.
My vet seems to like using the more expensive variety and is encouraging me to also use their trial versions, which I am not sure about.
All advice gratefully received

Cheers
Carole

pigsatlesrues

• Joined Oct 2008
  • Normandy, France
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2008, 11:24:28 pm »