Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: concernd about rearing rare breed to eat!?!  (Read 5371 times)

Janette1970

• Joined Aug 2009
  • North Lincs
concernd about rearing rare breed to eat!?!
« on: August 04, 2009, 01:35:18 pm »
Hi there, I am new to this game and haven't bought any books yet. So can someone please tell me if rearing a rare breed to kill and eat is ok? Won't I just be adding to the problem by depleting stocks?!?
Or will I be helping by increasing the popularity of the breed or increase turnover of stock?!?
Please help as I haven't decided which type of pig to rear.
I am not intending to make ant money from this venture, just cover a few cost by selling the pork from my pig's pigpal.(you should have at least 2 right?!?!?) ???

dixie

• Joined Mar 2009
Re: concernd about rearing rare breed to eat!?!
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2009, 02:00:26 pm »
Hi Janette, it is perfectly acceptable to rear rare breed pigs for meat, it will be the most fantastic pork you've ever tasted! I have gloucester old spots, I chose them as they are generally friendly and docile, but there are many breeds that fit the first timer bill! a good book is 'starting with pigs' by Andy Case, gather as much info as you can before you start, anyone locally to you have pigs that you could visit? or a one day pig course? you're wise to think you wont make a profit, I look at it as a hobby that pays for itself! good luck, pigs are addictive!! :pig:

BillyBerridge

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Nottinghamshire
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2009, 02:51:25 pm »
Its good to have concerns it shows your not just another one of the bandwagoners.. Jumping in to make some money!

As said before starting with pigs by Andy Case is a good book for beginers, as is teach yourself pig keeping by Tony York.

If you want a good all round Pig the Oxford Sandy & Black is well worth a look, VERY docile, very attractive on the eye, hardy, and they dont get too fatty as quickly as some others.