Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: hardy but not spiky shrubs  (Read 2804 times)

mowhaugh

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Scottish Borders
    • Facebook
hardy but not spiky shrubs
« on: August 13, 2013, 10:43:08 pm »
Please bear with me if I use all the wrong words, I am a very beginner gardener. 

We have just begun to tackle the large garden on the house we moved into last year, and I really am learning as we go.  It has been quite neglected and overgrown, so most of what I've done so far was let things flower to see what was there, then weed/cut back etc as appropriate.  There was one corner of the garden, across a stretch of gravel from the main lawn/border area which I couldn't decide if it had been a border that had got totally out of contol, or just a really, really weedy patch of gravel.  I weed killed it, then dug out the roots and so on, and have put black membrane over the area (about 2m x 4m).  My step dad has built a wee 'wall' around it with tree trunks to about 2' high, and I am making it into a sort of play area for my sons. 

I am going to lie some black fleeces which we didn't send to the wool board on top of the membrane, then fill the area with rubber chippings, where William and Angus can drive their cars/tractors/diggers etc.  I would like to make it a bit like a mini landscape, and am going to add some large stones, some rounds from tree trunks, but would also like to put some plants in there too.  I have no idea what to choose, though - they need to be very tough, to stand the temperatures we often get here in the winter, and small boys playing round them/using them as shelter for toy animals etc., but not be poisonous/itchy/spiky etc.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Bert

• Joined Jan 2012
  • Isle of Mull
Re: hardy but not spiky shrubs
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2013, 08:34:34 am »