Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: After dispatching a Duck  (Read 5428 times)

donny

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Weymouth, Dorset
  • Do you know this breed??
After dispatching a Duck
« on: August 01, 2009, 03:25:18 pm »
Hi all

I have just dispached one of my ducks and would like to ask a question, I plan to hang it for just over a week, is it best to pluck it now or after hanging??

Many thanks

Donny

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: After dispatching a Duck
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2009, 04:21:49 pm »
As far as I can gather from others you gut it and leave it to hang covered up to avoid flies getting to it. But i'm no expert  :-[
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

donny

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Weymouth, Dorset
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2009, 05:46:45 pm »
Ah this is the stuff i need to know. I have heard both sides but never had anything confirmed, gut before or after???
Its my first duck so i dont want to ruin it by doing something wrong.

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2009, 05:59:19 pm »
I don't kill mine for eating so you'd best either google it or wait for one of the others to confirm - I may be wrong - just going by deer really. The meat is tainted if you don't gralloch immediately.
This might help - http://chat.allotment.org.uk/index.php?topic=27269.0
« Last Edit: August 01, 2009, 06:02:11 pm by doganjo »
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

shetlandpaul

• Joined Oct 2008
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2009, 06:24:19 pm »
is it tame or wild. you leave the guts in for turkeys and geese but i would not hang it for to long in august.

northfifeduckling

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Fife
    • North Fife Blog