Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Polytunnel. winter crops.  (Read 11495 times)

mcginty

• Joined Apr 2010
  • Tyrone, N.I.
Polytunnel. winter crops.
« on: August 21, 2013, 12:03:22 am »
This is my first year with a polytunnel,
and am trying to think what to plant over the winter.
any suggestions.
That's the way the cookie crumbles.

Bert

• Joined Jan 2012
  • Isle of Mull
Re: Polytunnel. winter crops.
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2013, 07:32:31 am »
I am also a first winter polytunnel owner  :excited: .
At the moment I have some kale seedlings coming on, some carrots seedlings ( don't know how well they will do over winter, I'm experimenting  :innocent: )
And I have some garlic on order ( dispatch Oct ) that will be going in my tunnel
That's as far as I've got. I am going to try and over winter some of my chilli plants  :fc:
Sorry I can't be more help, but I don't know what I'm doing  ;D

sabrina

• Joined Nov 2008
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2013, 09:34:42 pm »
I have grown all year cabbage in the tunnel with very good success .this year thought about trying garlic but it seems to do just as well outside. I have young leeks coming on and turnips.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2013, 09:54:43 pm »
Salad crops?

Fowgill Farm

• Joined Feb 2009
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2013, 09:33:02 am »
Huh.......planted 80 assorted cabbages in my polytunnel last autumn with the aim of keeping pigs supplied with greens thro winter....... but b@#t*$£d  :rant: rabbits got in and cleared the lot so it stayed bare all winter so make sure what ever you put in is well protected they're cunning little divils even digging under the frame and up into the tunnel from outside!! :rant:
Good luck
mandy :pig:

suziequeue

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Llanidloes; Powys
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2013, 11:41:06 am »