Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Help with overgrown raised beds.  (Read 3061 times)

Cazpanda

• Joined Jul 2013
Help with overgrown raised beds.
« on: July 10, 2013, 01:44:31 pm »
I have just taken over another allotment plot that already has raised beds. They are completely neglected and overgrown with mostly thistles and nettles. I don't want to do a lot with this plot this year as am working hard on the other as it is but want to start on it somehow!

My first thought was to just cut everything down to the surface, leave it all there, add some mulch, newspaper, grass cuttings, manure ect, cover it with a tarpaulin and leave till early next year?  Is that a good idea or not? Would it make the thistle die back or would the seeds germinate? Any advice would be great thanks.  :thinking:

Caz.

Greenerlife

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Leafy Surrey
Re: Help with overgrown raised beds.
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 02:26:26 pm »
I am no expert - but I would personally cut down the thistles and burn them.  I had pigs on my field who turned everything over and thistles the next year was the result!  I did spray them but some got away and I am going out this afternoon to cut and burn (imagine a picture of Lara Croft with a flame thrower  :innocent: ). How big is the plot?  Again personally, I would want to pull everything out, but perhaps you could do a bit of both?  Sounds like you have plenty on your hands to do with two veg allotments though!  good luck.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2013, 04:32:10 pm »
I would think if you cut it down and covered it with something dark to exclude light, then hoe regularly next year, even if there is nothing showing, you should be ok.

Cazpanda

• Joined Jul 2013
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2013, 10:08:46 pm »