Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Where Can I Buy A Couple Of Goats Inexpensively  (Read 4409 times)

nomadicdonkey

• Joined Jun 2013
Where Can I Buy A Couple Of Goats Inexpensively
« on: June 25, 2013, 02:37:28 am »
I need a pair of goats to clear 0.5 acres of densely overgrown land. Lots of brambles, nettles, vines, shrubs and some trees.  It's so overgrown that the majority of land is inaccessible. It is well fenced, and I understand that I'll have to keep an eye on the tree's to prevent the goats stripping them.

I'd prefer meat goats, as once they've cleared the land they can head over to the BBQ  :innocent: Not too bothered about breed, age, looks. I just need hungry tasty goats!

How long will it take a pair to clear 0.5 acres?  And where is a good place to find decent meat goats at a decent price?  Just to add, eventually I'm planning on getting a pair of pygmy goats for milking, and that I have some recent experience with dairy goats.

Additionally, I'm on the outskirts of London, so any suggestions nearby would be great.

Thanks
« Last Edit: June 25, 2013, 02:42:39 am by nomadicdonkey »

wytsend

• Joined Oct 2010
  • Okehampton
Re: Where Can I Buy A Couple Of Goats Inexpensively
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2013, 06:25:25 am »
Even a couple of castrates that are big enough to cope with that sort of vegetation will probably cost in the region of £50 -75.
Pygmy goats are not milkers.......average yield approx. 1ltr a day if you are lucky for a very short lactation.

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2013, 06:33:52 am »
and for Boer/meat goats you would probably pay more....

Also if this is an old garden it may well have Rhododendron or similar in there - highly poisonous for goats. Unless you know what you are doing I would have thought goats are not the best option.

sokel

• Joined Jun 2012
  • S W northumberland
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2013, 07:28:26 am »