Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Excuse me whilst I wallow in self pity... lost another lamb :(  (Read 5888 times)

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
We had an awful storm yesterday which carried on into the night albeit not as hard. Our lambs were out in a paddock with natural shelter on one side and sheep netting (electrified) on the other 3. I checked them all at 6.30pm and again just after 9pm and they were all fine so we left them out. The netting blew down overnight, the lambs escaped and 3 ended up caught up in the netting... and one died.
So I've lost 2 perfectly good lambs to sheer bad luck in 5 days (I lost one last week to bloat at over 3mths old). I wouldn't feel quite so gutted if they were very young and just didn't make it. These were weaned, over 3mth old lambs. Feeling a bit pants about it all now... surely my run of bad luck has got to end soon- 2 dead lambs, dented my car and an expensive repair bill for a camera lens (I am a photographer) in no more than 2 weeks.
What is it they say, it doesn't rain it pours  :raining:

kaz

• Joined Jul 2008
  • Ceredigion
  • Dust yourself off when life throws you down.
Re: Excuse me whilst I wallow in self pity... lost another lamb :(
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 09:37:38 am »
So sorry to hear your bad luck. We don't use the sheep netting with lambs because as you have found they can get tangled in it.
We use two strands of electric fencing which seems to do the job really well.
I hope things start to look up for you :fc:
Penybont Ryelands. Ystwyth Coloured Ryelands.  2 alpacas, 2 angora goats, 2 anglo nubian kids, 3golden retrievers a collie and a red fox labrador retriever, geese, ducks & chickens.

in the hills

• Joined Feb 2012
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2013, 10:00:00 am »
Sorry  :bouquet: