Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: good goat book for the newbie  (Read 3181 times)

MikeM

• Joined Jul 2011
  • NW Devon
good goat book for the newbie
« on: May 06, 2013, 02:21:08 pm »
Getting a couple of goats have been on my mind for a while now but I know virtually nothing about them so was hoping for a rec for a good starter book. Sorry if this is asked a lot, did look honest  :innocent:

waddy

• Joined May 2012
Re: good goat book for the newbie
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2013, 03:23:11 pm »
I also need a good goat book as I am very interested in getting a couple of milking goats when we get our smallholding (hopefully not long to go now) and I am a complete novice. I think it is a would probably be a good idea to go on a goat keeping course first also.

Helen :wave: :wave: :wave:

MikeM

• Joined Jul 2011
  • NW Devon
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2013, 03:30:43 pm »
yup. We're in DASH and I'm pretty sure they do goat courses.

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2013, 04:33:28 pm »
Mackenzie "Goat husbandry" 3rd edition, good book but can be hard going, some of the older ones are also quite good if somewhat "characteristic of their time", Check what's in your local library first. The only things that have really changed in the last 20 years is the regulations and some veterinary advice, so books from the 70s and 80s are still fairly relevant for general management.

jinglejoys

• Joined Jul 2009
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2013, 06:25:25 pm »
Another vote for Mackenzie...only book you'll need  ;)

MikeM

• Joined Jul 2011
  • NW Devon
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2013, 07:55:23 pm »
thanks all, I shall check it out.

goosepimple

• Joined May 2010
  • nr Lauder, Scottish Borders
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2013, 08:44:45 pm »