Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Too many ewe nuts cause mastitis? True or false?  (Read 2082 times)

SheepgirlSussex

• Joined Sep 2012
Too many ewe nuts cause mastitis? True or false?
« on: May 06, 2013, 10:45:45 am »
I like to give the penned, mothering-up ewes plenty of nuts as have heard this is good for milk production, but somebody told me that too many (not sure what constitutes "too many"!) can cause mastitis. Is there any truth in this? Would be grateful for any comments please.

thenovice

• Joined Oct 2011
Re: Too many ewe nuts cause mastitis? True or false?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2013, 10:53:03 am »
I have never heard that, but im not overly experienced. I wouldn't feed them too much, they don't need loads

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2013, 10:59:04 am »
Sheepgirl, I'm not experienced enough to answer either but it might help others if you say what you mean by plenty.

This has made me think of when I went to Slimming World, where you can have unlimited amounts of some fruit and veg. One girl wasn't loosing weight and the consultant was confused as to why. The girl said she ate oranges for her dessert. Consultant said that was ok until she found out that the girl was eating 12lbs of oranges. So I guess the moral of the story is everything in moderation.
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2013, 12:46:08 pm »
New one to me :thinking:  the causes of are many    cold winds /  a physical damage  /  infection    their is evidence that  genes can have an effect ,       footrot and maedi-visna  can cause an increase :raining:

bizzielizzie66

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Kent
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2013, 01:56:15 pm »
I would say False