Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Worming Kids  (Read 6113 times)

Maudlin-Matilda

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Republic of Ireland
Worming Kids
« on: April 25, 2013, 05:46:20 pm »
Hello everyone.

Our first goat has just had her first kids and this is my first time on the forum.  A week of new experiences - this one being the least stressful of the lot!!! :tired:

Could anyone tell me when I should first worm the kids, as I have had some conflicting advice - from 4 weeks old to not at all unless they show signs of worms in their droppings.

We are in Ireland and on wet ground, which has previously had cattle on it, so our vet gives us Albex for the adult goats as a combined wormer/liver fluke preventative.  However, a vet that knows about goats seems to be a very rare commodity in this area and by her own admission, our vet knows little more than we do.

She does do plenty of research before advising us but I'm not sure I want to risk her getting it wrong on this one.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

wytsend

• Joined Oct 2010
  • Okehampton
Re: Worming Kids
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2013, 06:34:55 pm »
Worm kids at 4wks wit an Ivermectin based wormer............do not use the fluke one on kids.
Any sheep wormer like Oramec is excellnet and should be given at 1.5times the sheep dose.
Whereabouts are you in Ireland..............might be able to point you to an experienced goatkeeper.

Maudlin-Matilda

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Republic of Ireland
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 01:03:34 am »
Many thanks for the advice, especially for the dosage guidelines too.

We are in Co. Cavan.

Maudlin-Matilda

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Republic of Ireland
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2013, 10:29:17 am »
Just one more question on this one: