Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Egg Laying  (Read 2897 times)

Bobby

• Joined Jun 2009
Egg Laying
« on: July 09, 2009, 03:17:38 pm »
Hi all
Sorry to post a bit of a dumb question but I am new to all this.  We have 4 hens who are about 22 weeks old. When they are ready to lay, what time of day does this usually happen - I have this idealistic notion of gathering my freshly laid eggs every morning - but not sure if they lay at night or during the day.
Thanks in advance

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
Re: Egg Laying
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2009, 03:23:17 pm »
Hi Bobby

My girls lay between  9am and 12 noon, the ducks normally have laid by the time I let them out in the morning. The hens dont seem to have any routine.

CarraghsBorderCollies

• Joined Jun 2009
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2009, 03:25:57 pm »
my ex-bat hen lays her egg about 9ish but i think she is probably a one-off as she is also laying 8 eggs a week at the moment despite her old age! and my cambells ducks lay their eggs between 3pm-6pm

having never had hens before (ive kept ducks and geese for a couple of years) i dont know if that is the "norm"

:chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook: :chook:
GEM. X

shetlandpaul

• Joined Oct 2008
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2009, 03:26:49 pm »
it varies they say it takes 26 hours for an egg but they do tend to lay in the morning with the odd one or two coming in the afternoon and evening. yet when we just had a few we often got 7 in a day from 6 hens so like everything else it varies.

Bobby

• Joined Jun 2009
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2009, 03:29:19 pm »
Thanks all. How will we know when they are ready to lay, I have been reading a lot , but still none the wiser.  We have been feeding hem organic layers pellets and they are scrouting around eating anything they can in the garden
Bobby

CarraghsBorderCollies

• Joined Jun 2009