Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Um, still not hatched....  (Read 4607 times)

donny

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Weymouth, Dorset
  • Do you know this breed??
Um, still not hatched....
« on: July 06, 2009, 11:52:12 pm »
Hi all

I had duck eggs in my incubator but it failed on me, i managed to try and keep things warm in a temp setup, i repaired the incubator pcb and worked fine, so, put eggs back in, out of the remaining four i was left with one.

Now as i am new to incubating i suspect that the last one has died prior to pipping...
The egg looks as though some one has drawn shapes inside the egg with a fine pencil. Hard to explain but it seems as though besides the huge air sack, it has other pockets of air in it. The egg was due for the final 28 days yesterday (sunday), but as yet all looks the same and no cheeping..

Any ideas

Regards

Don

shetlandpaul

• Joined Oct 2008
Re: Um, still not hatched....
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2009, 09:15:35 am »
give it two more days and if nothing is happening open at the airsac end and see what happened. the dead chucks we have are usually at the fully formed but small stage with the odd fully formed one.

northfifeduckling

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Fife
    • North Fife Blog
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2009, 02:50:01 pm »
Donny, I was trying to find your other posts - do you have any more pics of the ducks you want to know the breed of? It's hard to see on a wee pic. How big are the ducks?
:&> :&>

Tullywood Farm

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2009, 03:57:21 pm »
Hi Don,

The fine lines are blood threads, really thin and normal, I have had problems with hatching ducks too. 
Do you have a candling lamp so that you can look for a heartbeat movement?  If not, give it another day then break it open at the air gap to see whats happening, sometimes we get hens that hatch two days later than the rest of them.