Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice for sheering sheep  (Read 2621 times)

minibn

• Joined Jun 2012
Advice for sheering sheep
« on: March 26, 2013, 07:55:02 pm »
Good Evening

I would like some advice about sheering 6x Shetland rams.

I know that they will not need doing till the summer months, so i may come across as being pretty keen. I am pretty new to sheep keeping (Since August 2012). I don't really know much about the process of sheering, or who to contact to arrange them to be sheered. I have read that they will shed there fleece (is this true?) I like the idea of being able to do it myself. I clip my own horses.

I have also read that you have to register with the wool board, as they will take the fleeces. I don't expect to get much if anything for the fleeces. They are not in the best of condition, as the boys tend to get brambles etc caught in it. They have also pulled out clumps of wool already.

How soon after they have been sheered can they be drenched?

Any advice welcomed

Kind Regards

Emily

FiB

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Bala, North Wales
    • Facebook
Re: Advice for sheering sheep
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2013, 08:53:04 pm »
Ihavnt registered with the wool board as I use/sell/give away my fleece.  It is a joy to clip yourself and the singing shearer is a fab teacher (google him).  Good luck and enjoy

lachlanandmarcus

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2013, 09:02:53 pm »
In theory if you have more than 3 sheep or a rare breed you have to register. But a lot of people dont. However, I did last year and mine went off to the Board.
For six you could choose either to shear them with electric shears you buy, or hand shear them yourself, or try to find a shearer to do it (which will cost the same or a bit more per sheep than you will be paid by the wool board but at least that helps offset it).