Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep advice please- run up to lambing!  (Read 4020 times)

lou995

• Joined Feb 2013
  • leics
Sheep advice please- run up to lambing!
« on: March 23, 2013, 09:22:37 pm »
Evening all  :wave:

I'm new to the sheep side of things, i worked on a dairy farm for the last 7 years so well aware of dry cow management and calving however sheep are a whole new ball game! I've got 6 Southdown ewes that all should be in lamb. Potentially lambs could start arriving after this weekend(assuming they go 145days) One ewe is bagging up well now, are there any warning signs i can look for before i see signs of starting to lamb? I understand that breeds are probably all different and the individual sheep may give hints or not, would be nice to be half a step infront of them! :innocent: ;D
I was supposed to be attending an 'lambing for smallholders' but the college cancelled due to lack of interest! So i'm throwing myself in at the deep end and will generally treat them as miniature cows if i have to assist lambing!
Keeping them in over night now and daytime if weather bad. Adlib hay available always, lifeline lick.
4 shearlings 2 BIG ewe lambs.

Thanks  :thumbsup:

thenovice

• Joined Oct 2011
Re: Sheep advice please- run up to lambing!
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2013, 09:35:41 pm »
Im no expert, but my first experience of lambing last year was with southdowns. They are a wonderfully docile breed, and they make good, milky mums. I would be careful about not giving too much hay as you get close to lambing, it can lead to prolapse. Also with the shearlings being first time mums, it may be a bit of a shock for them, so id keep an eye on the ladies. It it just my opinion, but as a breed, they are not always the easiest of lambers, so if you can get a little hands on instruction from a local flock its a definite bonus. Contact the breed secretary, they are very helpful. Good luck  :thumbsup:

SallyintNorth

• Joined Feb 2011
  • Cornwall