Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Poorly lamb  (Read 3479 times)

Nickie

• Joined May 2009
  • Gwynedd
Poorly lamb
« on: March 20, 2013, 12:46:37 pm »
Hi all. We started our lambing last week. Things were going fine until this morning. One of the twin ram lambs born early Sunday am was missing. Finally found him asleep, but covered in blood.

He looks like he's had a stroke or something. The left side of his face has dropped, droopy eye, mouth open, tongue out. He has had blood coming out of both his ears, it was fresh, but no longer bleeding. He looks very sorry for himself, ears droopy. However, he is warm & feeding from mum, he is able to walk & has been round the field several times today with his mum & twin. He can hear & responds to his mums calls.

Anyone got any ideas?

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
Re: Poorly lamb
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2013, 01:16:23 pm »
Hi there
As a vet, I can tell you that the droopy face, mouth open, tongue out sounds like facial nerve paralysis. The nerve that controls the muscles of the face passes through the ear area, and if damaged, will lead to that side of the face drooping. It would fit with blood coming from the ear that there has been some direct trauma to that area, either a knock to the head that's caused bleeding, potentially something like a crow pecking at the ears, or even a bad infection, though ear infection would be rare in a young lamb.
If he is doing well, walking, keeping up with mum, and is able to feed, then he should be just fine - just keep checking this as he may struggle to suckle a bit if the lip is drooping, but the tongue should still be able to work normally. If there has been a direct damage to the nerve, such as a trauma, then it may never recover, but if the damage was around it, and swelling only is causing the nerve related problems, it may settle down with time.
I hope with your TLC he'll do just fine :)
Suzanne

SallyintNorth