Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: How to deal with a Prolapse???  (Read 12592 times)

Hillview Farm

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Surrey
  • Proud owner of sheep and Llamas!
How to deal with a Prolapse???
« on: March 02, 2013, 09:34:23 am »
This is one thing I've never had to deal with myself. My old farm manager at college used to put sugar on a prolapse but since talking to a vet, was told it was a very bad way to deal with it as sugar attracts bacteria.

So how do you deal with it? I dont have a harness just spoons.

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
Re: How to deal with a Prolapse???
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2013, 11:17:28 am »
I have been lambing for 16 years, and am now a vet, so have considerable experience of sheep prolapses! The basic pre-lambing vaginal/cervical prolapse is relatively easy to deal with, and can be fixed and kept right by spoons, but if you get a prolapse after lambing, it is considerably more difficult to deal with, and with considerably less chance of survival. Best option for these really is to get the vet, as an epidural can really help.

Sugar is a trick for one that's been out a while, particularly useful for say a beef cow that's out at pasture, and may have prolapsed for 24 hours before it's noticed. It attracts the water out of the prolapse (because the pressure has blocked fluid getting back to the body and it has swollen) and makes it shrink, so makes it easier to replace. In most sheep prolapses this won't be necessary, it will be possible to put the prolapse back in without shrinking it.

Use the flat of your hand or your fist as required, try not to use your fingers too much as they are small and put more pressure on the fragile tissues, so you can put holes in. Once your entire prolapse has gone back in, you should be able to fit a whole fist and part of your wrist in.