Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Snotty nosed pigs  (Read 5513 times)

sweet_lfa

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Pembs
Snotty nosed pigs
« on: February 07, 2013, 09:48:25 am »
Hi, when I went to feed my kunes this morning they both had very snotty snouts.  It was a clear, whiteish sort of colour.  I am very worried about my piggies now, could someone please tell me what it could be?  I am a very novice pig owner, so any advice will be very gratefully received, thanks  :)
1 x WB horse, 1 x Sec A pony, 2 x Kunekunes, 3 x Embden geese, 2 x Fawn Chinese Geese, 4 x Dexter Cows, 1 x Springer Spaniel, 1 x Jack Russell, 1 x Light Sussex, 1 x Wellsummer, 2 x Pekins, 3 x ex-batt hens, 1 x pet boyfriend

Fowgill Farm

• Joined Feb 2009
Re: Snotty nosed pigs
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 10:12:37 am »
They've probably just got a cold, maybe even caught it off you ;D  Pigs are very suseptable to human lurgies. Check their temperatures to be sure its nothing more, make sure they are warm (feel in their armpits to check) and so long as they are eating and doing all the things pigs do they'll be fine in a couple of days. We have an old geriatric pig who is continually snotty thro winter and he gets 10ml of calpol, which seems to help and the vet thinks is incredibly funny ;D
also could be an allergy, have you changed straw or anything in their environment?
If it is snuffling it can be something called Atrophic Rhinitis, symptoms include sneezing, runny eyes, discharges from the nose sometimes containing blood and early signs of distortion of the face, with shortening or twisting of the upper jaw becoming evident at weaning time. It is important also to appreciate that sneezing is a common occurrence in the sucking pig and need not necessarily be associated with it. Caused by pasturella bacteria. Will normally clear up itself but can  be treated with antibiotics if persistant.
HTH
mandy :pig:

HappyHippy

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 12:13:07 pm »